Wensleydale Cheese

So cheese is a pretty big thing in England & I’m down with that. Who doesn’t like cheese? But my all time favourite ever is Wensleydale. I first tried this cheese several years ago, when I was in England over Christmas; it was just there, in the fridge, someone put it out on a plate and I thought “ohh hello, what are you?” An instant like & I’ve never looked back.

Back in Canada (Winnipeg), finding this cheese proved to be rather difficult; the only place that I could seem to get it was from a small, cash only stall in The Forks Market. And it was expensive. I’m not ashamed to admit that I spent $20 on 300g of cheese. I’m also not ashamed to admit that I had to rustle up some change from my friend; and her son. All for the sake of cheese. But, now back in England I can find it in just about any food store and for a more reasonable price. Recently at the Leicester Market, I scored a nice chunk for £1.25 ($3) and that lasted me many a tasty snack of cheese & crackers.

IMG_4952.JPG

When you cut into it, it crumbles. When you run a knife over it, it spreads (kinda). When you just think to yourself “man I wish I had some cheese with fruit in it,” it’s there for you (dried cranberries in cheese…sooo goood). I’ve been told it’s an acquired taste; everyone I’ve goaded into trying it thinks it’s pretty awful. According to Wikipedia, Wensleydale’s flavour is suggestive of “wild honey balanced with fresh acidity.” Not too sure what that means, but I’ll go with it. I can’t describe the taste so I’d surely fail as a cheese connoisseur, but I will say that “IT’S THE BEST EVER!”    

Fun Facts:

  • Originally made in Wensleydale, North Yorkshire
  • Texture – medium, crumbly
  • Average ageing time – 3 to 6 months
  • The Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes is a legit tourist attraction (…road-trip pending?)
Leave a Reply

